Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2,748 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my name is Brian ... but most folks call me Rex. I'm 58 years old, a military vet (1979 to 1985) and ex first responder (late 80's to early 90s .. south east Los Angeles). I survived the 1992 LA Riots, but my partner was assassinated by MS13 a month later (shot 5x in the back and 1x in the back of his head ... he never even got to draw his gun or see his murderer). I left in the fall of 1992, we moved from the LA area ... left skidmarks on our way out of town. We moved back to Yuma where it was safe, quiet, and hotter than the hubs of hell. Ok, enough of that crap.

I started riding at 11 years old in southern California (1972), and entered my first race six month later at a track known as Dead Man's Point. I was lucky to have a stepdad that had previously raced flat track, and spent Friday nights racing at Ascot Park in Gardena California. So I had one hell of a mentor. We moved to Tucson in 1973, and in 1974 I began night racing (motocross) in the 250cc class on a 175cc Yamaha. I was 14 years old, and 4' 8" tall, 90 pounds soakin wet. I did all of my own suspension modifications with a hacksaw and oxy/acet torch (moved the rear shocks' location, made my own expansion chamber, and other stuffs). By the second season in the 250cc class I was in the expert division, and my dad was so freaked out by the speeds we were racing at that he sold my 175 and got me into the 100cc class. In 1977 I took 4th place overall at the Can-Am Nationals in the 100cc Expert division.