Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding for 10 years and finally got one of my dream bikes, as we all have n+1 dream bikes out there...

2010 Hypermotard 796 with only 6,600 miles on it. I'm coming up on 7,500 miles real fast and would like to know what the majority of you guys do. Do you check/adjust the valves and timing belt yourself or do you take it to the shop? Lucky for me, I have Motoguild nearby where I can take a class to check/adjust my valves but could I swing it on my own?

Enough talk, pics or it didn't happen! :grin2:

This is the day I bought it. Lucky for me, it came with a DP ECU, air filter cover, tail bag and Rizoma mirrors. I'm thinking of replacing them as they're too small and have terrible visibility. Do the stock 939 mirrors fit?

Simple things first, clean that filthy chain/sprocket and get new tires. Q3 rear and Q3+ up front

Sound and projection next. I added a LV cat delete, Termi slip-on, Rizoma frame sliders.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Congrats, as a first time Ducatista myself, I can appreciate the joy a new toy (especially a Hyper) brings!

Many change out the 939 mirrors for Monster mirrors, but no idea of they will fit the 796.

A lot of us don't have a Motoguild nearby, so you are at an advantage there. I wonder of the regular valve adjustment class can be made to be Ducati-specific? Since there are special tools you'll need. Learning on an SV650 (SVRider anyone?) like it shows on the Motoguild website might leave gaps in preparing you.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Congrats, as a first time Ducatista myself, I can appreciate the joy a new toy (especially a Hyper) brings!

Many change out the 939 mirrors for Monster mirrors, but no idea of they will fit the 796.