Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
570 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I have been asked to participate in a summer parade in my city. I would like to join and show off my bike but I'm worried about her overheating. The parade route is only 3 miles long but speeds will definitely be less than 10 MPH. The average temperature here in the summer is about 72F.

I do have a small 12V cooling fan from one of my past car projects I can temporarily hook up and maybe mount in front of the oil cooler or somewhere behind the fairings. Your thoughts?

·
Registered
89 Posts
I know nothing.
I have no relevant Ducati experience.
I have owned a Ducati for 3 weeks.

But... if I lived in San Diego and the normal ambient temperature was 72 degrees I would not even think there was a question there.

I have been to Italy in the summer time... trust me on this... it is way hotter in the home land than San Diego and the traffic in Rome is worse than your parade.

As an experienced parade rider (back in the Harley days.. 20 years worth) I would have more concern about the clutch than the engine temperature.

·
Registered
454 Posts
I ride my 900SS everyday and through heavy traffic in Queensland where we have a hot climate as well and some days the bike does get very hot. I asked my Ducati Dealer who's been working on Duc's for 25 years and a dealer for almost as long about temperature because I often do spend a long time in traffic and my 1994 didn't have a temp gauge so I asked him if I should have anything to worry about.