Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

I was changing the oil today to finally ride my bike. I also washed it last week. My lights work, When I hit the switch down to get ready to start my bike, it makes that noise that it usually does. But when I hit the starter button, it does nothing! Can it still be my battery, even though the lights and everything are on? Did I do something when I washed it? I'm a little bummed because I was ready and all to take a ride today after a month and half wait. I have it on the battery optimizer from OPTIMATE. Right now the orange LED says CHARGE. I hope this is the problem, if not what else should I look for. I'm not really experienced with mechanical things, other than changing oils and filters and little things like that. So if you explain something please give it to me in DUMMY terms. Pictures would help alot too. Thanks

I have a 2001 748s

I also forgot to mention that we did a rolling start about 6-7 times and it would not start up. It would put, put, put, like its going to start but wouldnt do it. One time, it sounded like it was really close, but didnt.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Not long (1 1/2 hours), I just put it back on the charger today since it wouldnt start. Before that it's been months (actually awhile). However the last time I started my bike has been around 1 1/2 months - 2 months. But how come my lights and cluster work and blinkers. Kill switch when pushed makes the noise like usual. When I hit the starter button, it does nothing.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
So I tried jumping it from my car battery (not running) and it did nothing. Just the same as before. The lights and brake lights work, kill switch makes noise when push down, but starter button does nothing.

·
Registered
1,751 Posts