Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here and non-informed non-engineer, would like to get into motorcycles and Ducati's someday and like to learn more, so please mind my ignorance.

My questions are about Ducati's decision to use a belt driven cam instead of chain or gear driven cam system. I've read that some Ducati owners have had problems and ruined engines due to belts breaking.

Would most Ducati fans and buyers prefer if Ducati went with a chain or gear driven system similar to Honda's RC51?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ducati makes chain driven cam engines, the Superquadro and V4 in the Panigale series bikes. What is your question?
I wasn't aware that Ducati did make chain driven cams in the V4.

It's a hypothetical question but would have it been wiser for Ducati to have originally used chain driven cams for their 916/996/998 series VTwins ?

·
Registered
1,089 Posts
There are advantages and disadvantages of each system. Chains last a long time, but they also do stretch in use and need to be adjusted. Belts are more constant and don't change during use, but need to be replaced more often. Gears work great, but they are noisy, and they consume/waste energy and power compared to chains and belts.

I think that when Ducati went to the belts for that generation of engines, they judged that most Ducati owners don't put a ton of miles on their bikes, or ride them daily, so that the belt interval wouldn't be a huge deal. So they chose belts, which are efficient and which don't need to be adjusted or fiddled with until its time to change them.

·
Premium Member
3,674 Posts