Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have a 2013 MTS1200S with 33k mile on it and figured as this is my second Ducati and I am a mechanic to some extent (former service manager for Yamaha, Polaris, and Kawi dealer), I would "get to know" my bike over the winter by doing the timing belts, valve clearance, etc.
After replacing the belts and checking the valve clearance (in spec...phew!) I proceeded to reassemble. Plugs looked fine, serviced the air filter (way overdue) and flushed/replaced the antifreeze. Used dielectric grease on all connectors and plug caps. Pulled the rear shock to realize it is not rebuild able. Then, when I went to start it....it ran for a bit. I shut it off to check the coolant level. Now, nothing. I have a no start. It cranks but will not fire. I am in the process of tearing everything back down to retrace my steps but could use some advice on any specifics some of you may have encountered that could be fighting me. my thoughts are:

Was I not supposed to oil the air filter (ducati high flow filter, full exhaust, tune boy) and fouled my plugs?
Was my timing off a notch on the belts? (it wouldn't have run, right?)
Did the dielectric grease in the plug caps screw with the spark?

I know this is all speculation but any advice is welcome. My other Ducati is a 2014 Hypermotard and at least that is functional to get me out on the road!

·
Registered
157 Posts
Hi, difficult to diagnose from afar... And you have listed a fair few operations/sources of error.

Did you put dielectric grease on the points of contact? That's no good.

It's an insulator, i.e. Die electric[ity]! It's to keep moisture from entering the connection, thereby preventing corrosion. It does not, promote conductivity. (unless you have another kind of course!)
Then again, it did start once.

Do you at least have spark now?

·
Registered
6,576 Posts