Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am in search of a Hypermotard. I am already decided that I want one.. Im just not sure what year? I know I want an 1100... I see a ton of 2008 models that look well kept on craigslist but I am not sure what the advantage of getting a later model year is. I have the money to buy a newer 2011 model or so but I would rather just drop 7.5 on a 2008 if there is not a huge difference in terms of handling, reliability, maintenance, and performance.

Anyways, I hope to get to know you guys better and join you in the Hyper world.

·
Registered
140 Posts
I'm far from an expert on the subject but I recently bought a 2010 Evo SP. My rationale behind choosing the SP is because I'm a big guy, 6'4", and the SP sits taller than the other Hypers. If I were more "normal" I think I would have gone with a 2008 S. There are much more aftermarket fuel injection and suspension choices with the DS bikes than the Evos. Either way I think you're getting perhaps the most fun motorcycle ever made. I know you'll enjoy it!

Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com App

·
Registered
532 Posts
i had a 2009 hyper 1100 standard bike and i now have this 2012 evo sp. i never tunned any of them and if you are not for tracking or if you are sensilbe then the older model is wvery bit as good as the newer one. I did notice that there is a bit more power in this evo and i also like the fact that she sits a bit higher. I can honestly say that i regret ever selling my 2009 for this one reason and that is if i had've kept if, i would have a bike that ticked all the boxes and would have spent a lot less £££££££££

·
Registered
158 Posts
Depends what you're after...the 1100s is still a great bike especially if there are lots to chose from (read: negotiate on).