Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I'm new to the Ducati thing so bare with me alittle. Once I get the wife a new car it will be my turn for a new bike. I currently ride an '02 Suzuki GSXR 600. I'm thinking of getting a 749 for my new bike but I don't really know what the difference is between the different models (Speed, power, options, etc). I do like to go quicker then normal but I usually prefer a laid back ride where I can enjoy the view.

I've thought about going for a 996,998 or 999 but lets be real. I don't race on the track and I know my skill level isn't where it should be to keep my self out of trouble on the street. Stright line speed is one thing and everyone can do it but to much power with out the skill to use it right while in a corner can kill you.

Also, for those that have rode both a inline 4 and the 749's. How is the difference between them?

·
Registered
184 Posts
I had an 02 ZX6R and an 05 ZX6R now I have a 749 both bike have their ups and downs the 749 is a little short on power but make up for it in the handling and torque department. I like both bikes but I like the feel of the 749 the best out of all of them.

The best way to find out the difference between all the models is to go to ducati.com and look at the spec sheets. But if you can afford it get the 749R I think its the best bike made by ducati.

·
Registered
1,235 Posts
GIXXSTER said:
....I'm thinking of getting a 749 for my new bike but I don't really know what the difference is between the different models (Speed, power, options, etc). I do like to go quicker then normal but I usually prefer a laid back ride where I can enjoy the view.

Also, for those that have rode both a inline 4 and the 749's. How is the difference between them?
9This is my favorite topic, so warning long post :D )

Ok, given the info you provided above, you will love the 749.