Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I am new here. I started riding back in sep. 05 after I took the MSF course. I bought a 2003 Kawasaki 500r to learn on. I was wondering what I should move up too. I don't think I would be ready for a liter bike, but who knows. Seat height is very important.

Anyways I have been looking at the Monster 620 and the 749. As for price I will have to wait to get the 749. Both of these have very low seat hieghts. Actually lower then my bike now. Do you guys have any other sugestions?

·
Registered
84 Posts
First off, congrats on choosing to learn to ride.

Aside from price there are some other serious differences between the 749 and M620. The ergonomics are quite different. The 749 has much lower handlebars, a much harder seat, and much higher foot pegs. This isn't the kind of bike most people would be comfortable spending all day riding. The M620 has a much more upright and relaxed riding position along with a softer seat. Although seriously down on power in this comparision, it is a bike that can be well suited to travel, sport riding, and commuting.

Then there are the price differences. Obviously there is the purchase price difference, but it doesn't end there. The 749 has twice as many valves to check and adjust, so servicing is more expensive. Superbikes have lots of easy to damage and very expensive fairings to replace should it ever be dropped.

This might sound like the 749 is a bad idea. It isn't. It's a wonderful bike, but its best suited for aggressive, sporty riding and track days -- and isn't nearly as well suited for simply riding around as the M620.