Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was just thinking while I was riding a steady 80 mph, my RPM's are at 5K. Is that hard on the motor to hang around that high of RPM for 10-20 minutes? What about 6K?

·
Registered
985 Posts
I'm not an engineer, but I have noticed that my bike has a "sweet spot" at about 80 mph, at the RPMs you mention. I rather doubt that you're hurting anything! That said, operating at higher speeds probably entails a cost in increased wear and tear on everything, especially tires and brakes.

Our bikes have a finite life span, in both years and componant wear. We each decide how we'll spend this. I rather like high speed running, and am not planning on trading in a pristine, low milage machine.

·
Registered
2,401 Posts
Well... I run mine at those speeds all the time. Durations are between 10 minutes and an entire tank of gas (over an hour at 85+ MPH). The bike seems to just eat up the miles and keep on ticking, doesn't miss a beat both times I've ridden from Phoenix to LA and back, and many many 300+ mile day rides in AZ, with lots of freeway travel.

I've also noted a sweet spot for cruising between 80 and 90 MPH. I could (and have) ride at 90 for hours if the road allowed.

That said, my valve guides are shot. Some of the DS1000 motors had a material for guides that didn't hold up. Several on this board have had their heads replaced under warranty at less than 10,000 miles. I never did, and at 33,500 miles now, they are very loose, but the bike does not smoke or use oil. I'm riding it until I can find a set of heads to rebuild or it's so bad it won't get me down the road...I just can't bear to have the bike down long enough to fix the ones that are on there.

·
Registered
2,822 Posts
I was just thinking while I was riding a steady 80 mph, my RPM's are at 5K. Is that hard on the motor to hang around that high of RPM for 10-20 minutes? What about 6K?