Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, this is my first post so be gentle :) This forum has been super helpful to me in the past month as I get to know my new bike. I'm relatively new to motorcycling, and this is only my second bike, so I still have a lot to learn.

I bought a 1995 900 SS CR with ~9K miles on the cheap for $1500 about six weeks ago. I'm the bike's third owner and it's clearly been pretty well cared for. Cosmetically it's pretty much flawless with some wear that could be expected on a bike maybe 10 years old like some hardware that isn't as shiny as it once was. Pretty solid. I bought it knowing that it needed a little bit of work. For starters, there's some rust in the tank and the previous owner reported that one of the carb floats sticks every once in a while, plus it will soon need new belts, valve adjustments etc. Seems pretty standard.

Anyway, I took apart and cleaned out the carbs and reset the jets this week and found that there was a pretty significant amount of some sort of gel-like granule sediment in the float bowls. The carbs and jets are clean and seem to be running well (I'm still figuring out the pilot jet settings) and the sticky float that cropped up twice for me should be gone.

Before the cleaning, and when the bike was working fine, the friction zone on the clutch was very tiny and it was near impossible to keep the clutch there at all without stalling. Then starting in first gear rolling on the slightest about of throttle would speed you ahead. The slowest it really liked to go was 20mph without being super torque-y. In traffic it's kind of a pain.