Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I am very new to bikes. Here is what is going on. I am purchasing my best friends ninja 250. I will use this while I have my permit, and plan on taking the safety course. I plan on riding for a full season and saving up for a ducati monster 696. Now here is my concern. I am worried that I might be a little tall for one, I sat on them at my local shop and I felt fine but I did feel like after an hour I would need to stretch. Im six foot two. Im also worried that this bike would get old quick. Its a two cylinder. So I was thinking that I would want something bigger after riding it for awhile. I don't like crotch rockets. Is this the case with the monster? Also I plan on having my girlfriend ride on the back of it, will this be an issue? It wont be all the time, but when she wants to go for a ride I will take her.

·
Premium Member
3,120 Posts
If you are 6'2" you should be okay on a Monster. I'm 6' and they work fine for me.

On the other hand, have you considered a Multistrada? I rode a 749 Multistrada for a week in Spain and I really enjoyed it. The Multi would give you a little more room and you would have plenty of room for a passenger. With the Multistrade you can get a slightly bigger engine which might do you for a while longer than the smaller Monster motor. And you can get bags for the Multistrada in case you and your girlfriend want to take a trip.

A third choice might be a Sport Classic. Check out that sub-forum to learn more about them.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ya I did see both of those, I am only interested in monsters. I wont have a passenger all the time, just sometimes. Mostly it would be just me. I was worried about the power of the bike, I mean would it be wise to step to a 1100 monster for a second bike?

·
Registered
25 Posts
Sounds like you are new to motorcycling itself, not just Ducati.