Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New member and possible future Ducatisti here. Right now I've got a 2007 600rr. I've been riding for ~20 years. Because of family obligations, etc I don't ride nearly as much as I used to and only put <1,000 miles per year on the bike. I also do about 2-3 track days yer year but hope to do more now that the kids are getting older.

I've always wanted a ducati and like most people I think the 996 is the most beautiful bike ever made. At some point maybe I'll buy a 996 just to have it but at this point I want a great, sexy street bike that will be fun on the track. I'm town between a 2016+ 959 or a 2013-ish 1199. Both seem to sell for about the same price. I have had a liter bike before and love the power but always felt it was a bit intimidating on he track (I'm a novice trackday rider). Of course the label-whore in me wants the 1199 for the street cred and fact that its an insane bike...but the logical side of me is saying to get a newer 959 which will still crush the HP numbers of my 600rr.

So I was hoping for some input from you guys. It seems as though the 959 has traction control, ABS, quick shifter, slipper clutch and some other goodies. Aside from more horsepower, does the 1299 have anything else to offer?
Which would you choose if you were me and why? thanks in advance for the help!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also, I've heard that these bikes can be a bit maintenance heavy. Can anyone elaborate on that? I do most of my own maintenance and repair. Are these bikes really hard to work on?

·
Premium Member
599 Posts
Why don't you just buy a 996? They're great on the street and on the track and wonderful bikes to own.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Why don't you just buy a 996? They're great on the street and on the track and wonderful bikes to own.