Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im moving from florida to south san francisco this thursday. I will be transporting my multi and triumph daytona 955i in an enclosed uhaul 6x12. My friend asked me tonight if I was going to drain my gas tanks and honestly I had never thought about it. I will be traveling thru texas, new mexico, arizona, nevada, death valley and thru yosemite. Should I drain my tanks with the extreme temps of the south west. This is my first time transporting motorcycles and I thought I thought of everything until this. :confused::confused::confused:

·
Smut peddler
817 Posts
I have transported mine all over the country, and never did such a thing, with zero problems. Maybe your friend was just telling you to remove every last trace of Florida to avoid any PTSD type symptoms of remembering that horrid, no turns or elevation changes , humid hotbox shithole filled with lake dinosaurs, place.:grin2:

Or maybe he thinks you ride a cb 350, and there's no fuel petcock.

But to be cereal, you should only be concerned that they are secured mucho bueno, preferably with wheel chocks. Safe travels, your bikes are going to love you for where you're moving. It's motorcycle nirvana.

·
Retired Pipe Polisher C2H6O+
17,915 Posts
I always trailer my bike with empty tanks. But not because it’s hot. I do it simply because the lighter weight makes it easier to load and less mass up high making them more stable when tied gown. But then I also have two 5 gallon fuel bottles full that I also carry in the trailer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

·
Registered
5,723 Posts
I don’t empty mine. I’ve hauled bikes all over the country for years and never have emptied tanks. What a hassle. If I have a breakdown they are ready to go. It’s safer than hauling fuel separately.

·
Señor Member
8,029 Posts