Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to be doing a track day on my ST4s on June 19th. I'm scheduled for my 12K mile service the week prior and also to have new tires fitted (probably will try the ContiRoad Attacks). I've got Avon's on now and have really enjoyed them, but the Conti seems to be the new rage. Anyway, my question is; is there any reason to hold off mounting the new rubber until after the track day? The Avons are worn mostly in the center because I do a lot of highway riding.

·
Registered
588 Posts
First of all, if you're at all suspect of the capabilities of your tires, get them off of your bike before you take to the track. It would be a real shame to pitch a costly motorcycle over a set of sub $400 tires. With respect to the tires you have mentioned (Conti's and Avon'), I have no personal experience with either of them but I think I'm safe in saying that they are designed to be sport touring tires and not track tires. Personally, I'd be inclined to go with a set of pilot powers or Diablo Corsa's. Very good stick plus you'll be able to get some additional street life out of them once you leave the track. No where near as long as the Conti's or Avons currently on your bike but you'll get some decent additional use out of them.

·
Registered
286 Posts
I agree with mcd: If you have any doubts about your tires, swap them BEFORE your track day. As for the type of tire, that really depends on how hard you're going to ride on the track. If this is your first track day, the sport touring tires are probably fine. If you've done this stuff before, you may want to opt for a more appropriate sporting choice of rubber.

·
Registered
887 Posts
kentamcolin said: