Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up a 2000 ST4 about a month ago. I've been riding bikes for almost 18 years now, but this is my first Duc. It has 22,000 miles on it and it came with a stack of maintenance and repair receipts. I mean this guy did everything, he even put a new clutch in it at 17,000 miles already! But here's the thing, there's no mention anywhere of new timing belts. I can tell somebody's had the covers off at one point because the bolts that hold it on are a little chewed up, but I don't know if that was for new belts or what.

Here's my question: The book says to change them at 12,000 miles. I called the Ducati stealership and they said they do them between 6,000 and 10,000 miles. I work in the automotive industry, and yes I know there's a huge difference between a car and a bike, but most cars reccommend timing belts at 100,000 miles or more. I had an old VW Jetta back when I was a kid and it went 15+ years and over 150,000 miles before the original timing belt broke on me one day while I was driving. My point is, do these bikes REALLY need timing belts after only 12,000 miles? I'm not trying to "cheap out" here and look for an excuse not to do it, but for those of you who have changed yours, what kind of wear are you seeing on them? Are the teeth breaking off or the egdes fraying at all? Is the back of the belts getting glazed over? Are you seeing any cracking in the belts? I have the mechanical know-how to do them myself, problem is I don't have a garage and/or the time to do it. The stealership wants $200 labor plus the cost of the belts and I'm sorry but there is no way on God's green earth I'm paying that.

So what's the verdict? How far are the rest of you pushing your belts before you replace them, and what kind of wear are you seeing on them when you do? Thanks, and keep the shiny side up!

·
Registered
70 Posts