Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My '01 900ss is due for its fork service. My dealer wants $520 for parts and labor and I know they are screwing me, but there isn't another place that will do them (that I trust anyhow). I'm mechanically inclined (I do my valves, belts, oil, brakes, ect) but I've never done a set of forks before. What tools do I need? What specific parts do I need and where should I get them? What's the level of difficulty and how long should it take? Any tips or tricks would be greatly appreciated!
Cheers, Reuben

·
Premium Member
1,385 Posts
price

Thats not bad if they replace with Race Tech springs and valves! I just had mine done for $ 460 parts/Labor with Race Tech Parts.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thats not bad if they replace with Race Tech springs and valves! I just had mine done for $ 460 parts/Labor with Race Tech Parts.
Hmmm....they didn't say anything about replacing springs or valves..I thought they were just going to change fluids, seals, and dust covers?

·
Registered
18 Posts
I just finished my first fork rebuild tonight. 97 Monster 900, Showa 41mm non adjustable. I’ll try and share the pertinent info as I see it, in no particular order.

Measure/record position of top of each fork relative to upper triple to aid in reassembly.

Loosen top caps before unclamping from triple.
Slightly loosen very bottom bolt that hold in each damper system also before unclamping.
(be ready to catch the oil that will come out of this bolt hole when you completely remove bolt)

Set up a large area (at least beach towel size) to disassemble and lay parts out. Same for reassembly. For reassembly lay out all parts, but only parts for the reassembly so you can easily see if a part has been forgotten.