Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been reading the forums to find a cure for my screeching (chewbacca)clutch noise:
I did take my plates out, clean with brake cleaner and replace EXACTLY as they came out but as I have no real clue on what I am doing, was scared shitless to change things around for fear of damanging the bike. Didn't get rd of the noise anyway once it was hot.

Anyhoo I have some other general knowledge questions on the clutch and I'm hoping the enlightened amongst you can answer and provide wisdom:

1) as long as I keep the sequence of the plates the same, can I swap the plates position keeping like for like or turn them around? i.e swap a friction plate from the front to the back or just turn the plate around?

2) If I do any of these above, will it improve anything, generally speaking?

3) The pressure plate has 6 springs, if I remove any springs, will it reduce the pressure on the clutch lever and make it easier to use?

4) The lever engages the clutch at the end of the throw, literally no way to "drag" the clutch when pulling away from a stop. (almost broke my hand the other day when the damn bike lept away from me) Is using a progressive pressure plate the best option to cure this or is there another method?

·
Registered
14 Posts