Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,670 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This trip had a purpose. I wanted to explore an area where I had never been and I wanted to improve my riding skills. I’ve been riding motorcycles for 30+ years, but I probably fall into that category of having 1 year’s experience 30 times over. So I figured I could use this trip to apply all of the tips and instruction that I have been storing in my head. Homework if you will.

I really enjoy prepping for trips so I print out my maps and towns to put on my tank bag. I also take my Garmin 60c (antique now) and use it for guidance as well. I guess I was so excited about the ride I forgot to include the printed directions and had only my handwritten notes. Also, something didn’t work when I downloaded the maps for Ar, and Missouri so the GPS turned out to be worthless.

I had picked out what looked like the best twisty roads from Arkansas up to Hermann, Missouri near St. Louis. I had ridden Highway 7 up to Missouri before so I used it as my main road through Razorback country.

Sunday was launch day, but I had to cook burgers for my father-in-law and my wife’s family since it was father’s day. By the time we had finished up and got back home it was 3:30 before I could start my trip.

She took my picture and wished me a safe trip, so off I go. Due to the late start I wanted to get as far as possible before dark so I took I30 (I hate slabs) to Arkadelphia then 7 up to Hot Springs for Sunday night.

Note the blue duffle bag on the back. My $19.00 purchase to replace my tailbag. The tailbag is so tall I can’t swing my leg over on mounting the bike. This duffle bag holds more and has a lower profile. Good buy!

Monday morning I woke at 6:00. Funny how easy it is to wake up when you are having fun. I was on the road before 7:00 and on Highway 7.