Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
1,346 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So off the top, I don't know if this is a good idea, or realistic idea, for a thread, or not.
I do know it's a little premature on my end because I'm still a few months away from being able to do a final weigh in on my 996 build.
The inspiration comes from the recently posted thread comparing the weights of the Superleggeras..
And the fact that it's very common to see members providing dyno charts and power figures for their rides, but we rarely see actual weight figures. Which, in my opinion, are at least as interesting as what's going on at the rear wheel power wise
In the nineties, when I started riding, I purchased a series of ever more powerful sportbikes, each one less and less appropriate to my skill level as the power went up. I knew in theory, having been very impressed with Tadoa Baba's design philosophy with the original Blade, that light weight was at least as important as power when it came to sportbike dynamics. But it wasn't until finances forced me onto a Honda Hawk, from Blades, R1s, TLRs etc, that my eyes were truly opened to how effective light weight could be when assessing the ultimate potential of a sporting motorcycle.
I decided many years ago with my 996 that I was going to forego the technological merry go round of the latest and greatest in favour of refining the package that I have and love. Obviously that meant pursuing the classic recipe of increasing power and loosing weight. Weight wise I have no idea where I've gotten to. All body panels are carbon including the tank. Wheels are carbon. I've tried to reduce weight as much as possible where it spins, whether that be at the clutch, in the motor including the crank, at the drive train, or at the brakes. The heavy headlight housing and headlights are gone. What this all translates to I have no idea. I'm hoping for 390-400lbs.. We'll see in the spring..