Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I have been riding for over 40 years but am just now looking for my first Ducati. I have gotten to a point that an inline 4 engine is bland and not exciting to me anymore. So I love the naked bikes and am looking hard at the sf 848. (I like the vtwin) I have read that some models of Ducatis put an uncomfortable amount of exhaust heat on the butt or legs/thighs. My question is... does the streetfighter 848 do this? I'm sorry if it has been discussed before, but my search attempts have been unsuccessful thus far. Thanks for your comments, you have an excellent site here.

·
Bon Vivant
10,227 Posts
All Ducatis put out some heat. I think the SF is a little better than most of the latest bikes but it does put out a little heat. I have a 1098 SF and it might even be a little hotter (I haven't directly tested this) but what I do is wear leather riding pants and I honestly never even notice any heat from the engine. The few times that I've ridden in jeans I have noticed some heat.

Being that this is your first Ducati remember that a Ducati V-twin (along with engines like rotax, aprilia, KTM) is nothing like most V-twins that we think of in the US - these are high reving performance engine that make their power higher in the rev range, They are not made for cruising around at 2000RPM with instant torque, the power band starts at around 7K and ends at redline and on these bikes its 9500 I believe. but anything over say 4K or 4500 will get you a good punch. For me that high reving character is what makes Ducatis so amazing.

So If you've been riding I4 engines I think you'll like the Ducati character but remember the 9500 redline :wink2:

·
Registered
11 Posts