Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Afternoon everyone,

I recently had an accident (non motorcycle related) and will not be able to ride my GT1000 for a couple of months. I was wondering what recommended tasks I should do to the bike in order to be able to ride it once I recover. While I recover, it will be sitting in my garage, unridden. I'm relatively new to the GT1000 so dont hesitate to describes things as you would to a 5th grader.

Thanks in advance for any help you guys might be able to provide!

Attachments

·
comrade moderator
27,184 Posts
Ethanol free fuel if you can get it wherever you are, or Sta-Bil if you can't...and a battery tender. That's it!

·
Registered
929 Posts
Definitely, do what Chuckracer said. You said you were new to these bikes. If you don't know already, the tanks are susceptible to the ethanol gas and can make them swell/bubble-up/warp or whatever.

Depending on how long and the temperature, if it is cold, take out the battery and put it somewhere warm with a battery tender attached to it. If you have stands to lift the tires off the ground, do this as well. You can also put something over the exhaust pipe ends to make sure nothing crawls up your tail pipes.

·
Registered
564 Posts
I've been told not a bad idea to turn the motor over, without starting, every few weeks to reposition the timing belts. Sounded good to me so that's what I do over the winter, and might suggest in addition to above.

·
Registered
1,401 Posts
I leave my bike alone in the garage all winter every year. All the above tips are good ones, here's what works for me:
1) Battery tender (I have a dedicated unit for my Shorai Lithium-Ion unit)
2) Fuel Stabilizer