Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to this, I have a 97 Ducati 900ss sp, Had it running , now it wont start, no click nothing, even when u put a jump box on it, anyone have any ideas, i was thinking starter or solenoid?

·
Registered
145 Posts
The starter relay is on the right side of the frame. Reach around behind it and push the wires and make sure they're seated tightly. That's all my problem was.

·
Registered
33 Posts
solenoid issues

A major bugbear with my duke at one point was its habit of allowing the small white plug of the solenoid to break contact, and ducati being ducati, the solenoid on the monster was in just about the worst place possible to allow the plug to be prodded, much less removed and reinserted. It caught me out 3 or 4 times before I rotated the solenoid 180 degrees fror easier access. Part of the reason for this at the time being that if all else failed, I could easily short the solenoid terminals with something conductive (usually a spanner) to at least get me started. I seem to remember junking my side stand cut out switch not long after this problem happened to me the last time as it also played up and prevented me starting the bike once too often. I developed a hatred for anything that could potentially interrupt the start circuit after these initial gremlins. These days, many jap bikes have stuff to prevent starting in gear, with the sidestand down, the clutch not pulled in, etc etc etc etc. Are we really all idiots, happily, after removing all the 'safety' aids that can potentially cause a similar starter problem, my ZX7R and the duke will both happily start with me safe in the knowledge that a non starter is easier to identify. Not trusting my neutral light for years makes me infinitely more careful than any electrical protection anyway.

·
Registered
662 Posts