Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, just bought myself a 2003 ST4S. Took it around the neighborhood today, noticed that the temps quickly shot up to 248 F :frown2:

Ambient temps were 75F, was only cruising in 1st/2nd gear at around 20-30 mph for around 5-10 minutes.

So where should I start in diagnosing/fixing the issue? Obviously checking the coolant will be the first step, gonna pull the RH fairings later to check it out. Any particulars that I should be looking for on this? I've got the service manual.

I'm a competent auto mechanic but rather new to wrenching on bikes. Completely new to Ducatis- always been a dream.

·
Super Moderator
4,645 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

If you haven’t added you location info to your user profile, please do so. It’s also good to have your bike details in your signature line.

The ST4 has two temperature sensors, one for the ECU and one for the temp display. You can try swapping leads to see if a sensor is bad. They are readily available At the local auto parts store (see sticky above for alternative parts). Check for coolant level and circulation.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,435 Posts
if it has had the coolant replaced and the front not raised when bleeding they can get air pockets in them that can make them overheat. also check the rh side of the radiator is hot. i've seen the plate in the lh tank fail and had them overheating while the rh side tank is cold to touch

also the sensors can be reading rubbish - i've seen a few where the dash and ecu are saying quite different things. was this moving or stationary? the ecu turns the fan on. did the fan come on?

·
Registered
106 Posts
Hey everyone, just bought myself a 2003 ST4S. Took it around the neighborhood today, noticed that the temps quickly shot up to 248 F :frown2: