Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, am new to the Ducati world and the forum. Recently bought a 2004 ST4s with 18.5k miles from a friend and 500 miles later it became a dead duck. It was purring along in the mountains and the motor immediately and without warning died, as though someone had used the kill switch. After that the bike would crank but gave no hint of wanting to start. Dash display was normal with no check engine or other sign of trouble.

So, I tore into it; my background is I have been wrenching on cars bikes and other stuff for 50 years or so and did a stint as a mechanic in a Guzzi shop.

To cut to the chase, it has no fuel pressure to the injectors, verified by inserting a T fitting with fuel pressure test fitting into the rubber fuel line that runs to the injectors (labeled Out on the bottom of the tank) and connecting the fuel injection pressure gauge. The pump cycles briefly after first turning on the key but nothing registers on this known good test gauge.

It looks like the tank internals are accessed by removing the plate on the underside rear of the tank. I do have the means to test the pump again once it is out of the tank but have a few questions:

• Is there anything besides an issue with the pump that could cause this problem, e.g. the pressure regulator?

If it is the pump, has anyone heard of them failing in such a way that the pump motor runs but no pressure is generated?

Do these pumps typically fail at this sort of mileage?

If it does turn out to be the pump is there a better alternative than the Ducati sourced pump?

If you have removed the pump access plate for any reason, does its sealing gasket have to be replaced or is it of the reusable type?
Thanks in advance for any comments or suggestions.

·
Super Moderator
4,634 Posts