Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yesterday I rode my Duc to work and after work, it had trouble firing up. I tried with the "high idle" open, closed, partially open, etc, and nothing worked. The most I got was a few actual combustions which just died off. Eventually, after over a half hour of trying intermittently and with the battery nearly dead, it fired up (reluctantly) and I made it home.

Anyways, to get to the point, I got around to checking it out today. I'm no mechanic, but I know the basics and then some. I took out a plug, I'm getting spark, and the plugs look pretty good. When I press the switch from 'off' to 'run' I can hear the fuel injection prime the cylinders (at least, I think this is what's going on). It seems to me that the bike catches that little bit of fuel that's primed, fires a time or two, then dies off. Maybe the injectors are gummed up and not injecting enough to get it going? I don't know...

I thought I'd drop a thread here to see if anyone has had a similar problem and can give me an answer or some ideas to try or some more troubleshooting techniques. I know this problem is really vague (my bike won't start, what's wrong?!), but maybe with the few clues I have, someone can point me in the right direction.

Thanks, guys.

·
Registered
426 Posts
Open the gas cap and while looking in turn the run switch if the gas in the tank swirled like a toilet flush you've bust a gas line in the tank. The new fuel is eating the hoses and their is a certified hose that needs to be used thier but some folk still don't use it as it can be hard to find

·
Registered
90 Posts
I take that when you press the starter button it triggers the motor right? If nothing happens, this is often the case of the connector behind the soleniod coming lose. Easy fix with a tie wrap.

That said, what you described sounds a bit different.