Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've begun to refurb a desmo of dubious history due to a prior owner swapping out components the extent of which I'm not yet sure. I've started with a chain and sprocket replacement. Its my first time working on the sssa and I used some prior threads on guidance on setting eccentric hub position. However, I've run into something I couldn't find any discussion on. When adjusting the eccentric, I could turn it through roughly the 3 to 9 o'clock positions and back, but could not rotate it all the way through. Since I understand the desired position to be between 4 and 5, and I didn't have any problem getting there, that's where I've set my position. I understand that it isn't desirable to set an upper position anyway, and while everything seems fine and test rides have been uneventful, I'm just bothered that it wasn't obvious what was preventing the hub from rotating through. I'd appreciate any feedback on whether this is normal to have only the lower positions or if it might be indicative that I've got a problem I need to look further into. thanks.

·
Registered
15 Posts
I see you have had the tail off. Although I don't have any help to aid in your situation, perhaps you could tell me how easy your pins went back in. Mine is the posting right before yours. Come to think of it, mine only rotated partially as well. I thought that was how they were supposed to be. Did you go to a 520 setup?

·
grand poobah
719 Posts