Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
While I have no current plan to trade in my ST2, the fact that it is nearly 20 years old and parts are starting to get harder to find has me looking around. I have been riding Ducs for almost 20 years and have brand loyalty to Ducati, but they really don't have a "direct" replacement for the old ST. There's the new SS with hard bags, but passenger capacity is nearly as non existent (or less) as it was on my Monster 750. (I've got a wife and two kids who all love to ride (at least the baby will love to ride when he's old enough :grin2: )). The Multi has the capacity but, quite frankly, and I know I'm in the minority on this, it's ridiculously uncomfortable.

Of the demo rides I have done, I know that I could get, maybe, a couple of hours out of the bike before I was in pain and needing to get off because the sitting position is so upright. Versus on my ST: I'm good to go all day (again, in the minority... weird back issues... yada, yada...). Then again on a cruiser, I've got about 20 minutes before I hurt. I like being able to hop on the bike and take off for the weekend, you know?

So, my question is this: Is there any good way to really change sitting position on the Multistrada into a more sport stance? Are there rearsets even available that kick the feet back a bit more? Is it lower bars or nothing?

Any suggestions?

·
North Carolina, USA
3,320 Posts
Just like I couldn't modify my old ST3 to be a comfortable long distance tourer for me, you might not be able to change the multi into what you are looking for. Might be more effective looking at that SS with a comfort or aftermarket seat.

Reactions: Wolverine1

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It's not the bike you're looking for.