Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys

After much back and forth I am finally in the cusp of jumping into the Duc fray. I have been riding for about 18 years and most of it on British bikes or BMW R1200GS. Now that I have moved to a place where the weather is rideable all year and there are some awesome mountain roads to ride on I want to get a sports bike.

I am very fond of naked street bikes. Probably because it harks back to my Enfield days. I am torn between the Sport 1000, Streetfighter 1098 S, 900SS for an eventual Walt Siegl cafe racer coversion. And as a wild card the 999R which is the only Duc sports bike that really appeals to me from an ergonomics and 5-600 mile a day ride ability. I regularly do 200-250 miles of twisties on my GS and longer tours as well.

The Sport Classic line appeals to me for the air cooled engine, the simplicity, lack of electronics and the looks. But I will need to put money into it to upgrade the suspension (I am a big [email protected]' & 250lbs) and the wheels. I tried the PS but that's an ergonomic nightmare for me. The naked line looks good.

The SFS is the modern naked bike with tons of character. I have never ridden one but from what I read it's good for mountains but not great as a daily commuter and 300+ mile rider. I am also not 100% sold on the looks. The headlamp is a bit weird looking in my eyes.

The 900SS appeals to me for only two reasons 1. Because it's carbed and fully mechanical 2. It's a good platform to go the cafe racer route. Downside is that it's an old bike with known frame cracking issues and even with the 944 big bore I might get at most 80-90 hp