Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

spoke to the peeps at speedymoto and they said that model 090201 frame sliders which fit monsters will work on the sport classics. :)

got some on the way! i'll share how the fit and install goes.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Boy, I feel pretty ignorant on this one. What are frame sliders, and what do they do? Add weight?

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
i have been riding vintage bikes since 1987. bought my first new bike in 2004 which was a monster. some of the local parts shops said i might want to check out frame sliders.

living in a city(SF) where parking is a nightmare and people in cars routinely knock legally parked motorcycles over to try and squeeze into a space clearly to small for their automobiles, the frame slider is a protective rod which extends from a motor mount to lessen damage when the bike goes over on its side. while designed for lowsides, i got frame sliders primarily as an added safety detail for the plentiful rude idiots out there in cars, in the event my bike ever got tipped over.

frame sliders are pretty popular in SF for this reason and found on numerous Eyetalian OR Japanese bikes.

wa6usa said:
Boy, I feel pretty ignorant on this one. What are frame sliders, and what do they do? Add weight?

·
Registered
66 Posts
Thanks for the education, I lived, and rode in the city a lot. The nice thing is downtown has motorcycle parking right on Market St. A whole city block just for bikes. It has been about 20 years since I worked there, but such a good idea has to still be in use. I like the idea of protection for the valuable Eyetalian machine, but it never leaves my sight hence no need for sliders. Thanks again
Tom

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·