Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My GT has been a little hard starting lately, often timing out on the first try and the other day it even did so after two tries. I'm no mechanic, but I thought I'd take a look at the plugs since I've always heard they're a good indicator of engine health. I've got about 6200 miles on the bike, and am running the stock ECU. No FatDuc 02 manipulator (although I plan to get one) - just have the stock setup with the evap canister removed.

Three plugs were all quite light in color (off-white), while the fourth - the one on the left of the front cylinder as you're sitting on the bike - was mostly medium brown with about 1/4 of the insulator and the area of the electrode above it the same light color as the other three plugs.

I know the bike runs lean with the stock setup, so I'm guessing this would account for the light color of three of the plugs. What I'm wondering is:

1) Could the color difference between the two plugs in the front cylinder be due to a difference in their gap I don't have a tool, but just by eyeballing I could tell the lighter color plug had a slightly larger gap. If not the gap, what would account for the color discrepancy between two plugs in the same cylinder? I didn't look at all four plugs at the same time to compare all their gaps.

2) Is there any reason to rotate your plugs to different positions and\or different cylinders?

3) Is it normal for the plugs of a bike with the stock setup to look lighter than the classic golden-brown I was told is the ideal color?

4) Finally, I realize a number of things could account for the harder starting, but are there one or two most likely causes?

Thanks in advance for any input.

·
Registered
2,822 Posts