Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All -

I'm quite new to the 1198S and have just started learning how to ride it after quite a few years out of the saddle.

I've set the TC to level 8 whilst I slowly get a feel for the bike. Something that came as quite a surprise was during relatively (OK in fact, quite light) acceleration, both the first and second warning lights came on the dashboard letting me know TC had kicked in - or was about to.

I was only shifting around 5000rpm (breaking it in you see), so I was quite surprised to see it come in so early.

What's the go with this? What have you guys got your TC levels set to?

I was quick shocked to see the lights come on. Somehow I find it very hard to believe it was coming anywhere near close to losing traction! Maybe it sensed an imminent wheelie?

Cheers guys.

·
Registered
56 Posts
I lit off the t/c lights during break in too, but all instances were explainable. L8 is supposed to intervene at "the slightest hint" of wheelspin so if you think about it, the feature is working exactly as designed. I've got mine set on L7 for general riding around and find it doesn't interfere, and works really well when wet.

·
Banned
11,256 Posts
Shit, I couldn't even ride the bike up the street in level 7, without the dash giving me a panic attack. Umm, if your looking for a decent setting, 5 - 6 right around there. Thats the "safety" net that won't intrude with regular riding what so ever, even if you ride hard. It will only kick in when you make a mistake or the traction is severely hindered.

I personally don't think the system is designed for the street, it happens to work there, but its really designed for the track because its a learning computer and ya can't learn very much from some street riding...

100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

·
Registered
2,334 Posts