Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 92 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,048 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have started to arrange a group "service" buy for the Caswell Tank seal for the Sport Classic.

I have found a Experienced professional Tech that has done numerous tanks and will guarantee his work.

I will go in to the details and pricing but wanted to see how many would consider having this done.

I realize other places are doing this type of service so please refrain from posting about them out of respect to this service I am offering and working hard on.
As I would respect not stepping on the toes of other offerings.

So, please let me know who would be interested.
I will need at least 5 tanks to get this going.

Thank you

JC

·
Registered
2,822 Posts
That's great, JC. I have a lot of experience with sealing metal tanks - POR, Red-Kote, and (ick) Kreem, but I've never done nor even been around anyone who has done plastic tanks, so I've been very curious what products are successful. Certainly there's no reason to think that a product will work on our plastic tanks just because it's been proven on metal ones.

It's great that you've found someone who has some proven success coating these tanks.

·
unM0derator
2,853 Posts
I've got the extended warranty, though 2013. I'm good as far as Ducati continuing to supply me with tanks.

I'm more curious to wait and see if this works (as well as finish the AL tank). But I think it's a great idea.

·
Premium Member
6,048 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The product is Caswell. They have done the research.
my installer has done CF tanks, FRP tanks, Plastci, aluminum,
BSA, Triumph etc etc. The list is long.

If you know what you are doing then you should be able to do it.
I have a source for resale so I think I can get a discount for those that DIY
A group sale for the kit for the DIY-ers
The importance is Clean surface, clean work area, and clean tank
wash rinse
wash rinse
and
It helps if its warm.