Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Still needs a life.
12,619 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The thread on Arai helmets got me thinking about the question of helmet replacment in general.

I bought an Arai Signet GT when my Shoei RF-700 became very loose fitting. I also noticed that advances in helmet technology had produced new helmets which were much lighter than the RF-700, which I believe is about mid '90's technology.

I am curious how often others replace their helmets and for what reasons. Is there any truth to belief that sunlight causes the energy absorbing foam layer inside the helmet to deteriorate over time? I would think the painted surface of the helmet would prevent this.

·
Registered
65 Posts
I've been wearing KBC lids for 4 years now. I tend to cycle them out every year to year and a half. I ride pretty much year round. I look at it a cheap insurance.
However I was at cycle gear last weekend and the sales associate was talking me into a new Arai, he stated that this would be a lid for 3-4 years, that I could just replace the liner. Which I thought was kind of interesting.

·
Registered
8,545 Posts
I got a new Arai in '01 after the guy in the Civic bounced my head off the pavement in New London, CT. Old helmet was an Arai too. Then in '03 after things kept falling off my Arai, I bought a Vemar based on an eval by the folks at Helmet Harbor. Tight fitting at first, it molds to your face. Also rated as loud but since I wear ear plugs a non-issue. Lightest helmet on the market at the time (except for Vemar's CF helmet, by 2 oz.). Cost me approx. $340. Then, Vemar stopped being imported from Italy (I think) and the graphics versions were going for $165, so I bought another this winter. Love them.

bruce19

·
Registered
263 Posts
Your perspiration also degrades the lining AFAIK...

I replace them when they start to get worn or when I crash in it, i.e. not very often.

It's time for me to start shopping actually.

·