Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Okay,

I've been reading these forums for quite some time, and they largely influenced my decision to go with my gut and purchase a Hypermotard. I have had my hyper for about a month now. I bought mine used, it's an S model that had been wrecked (all cosmetic damage, no structural) and repaired to like new. It has a prior salvage title, but you'd never know it. It didn't bother me because it put it at a price that I could afford, and I really love the bike!

I ride the bike nearly every day, rain or shine (I keep a rainsuit strapped to the back) from my ranch about 40 miles west of Kansas City in the Kansas River Valley. I work as a product engineer in downtown Kansas City. It's a beautiful ride through the Eastern Kansas countryside until I get to the city limits. Eastern Kansas, contrary to what most think, is actually quite hilly and lush as the Missouri and Kansas Rivers come together here. We have beautiful, hardwood covered, rolling hills and an abundance of green! It also provides for gorgeous falls.

At any rate, I rode home yesterday. My ranch is about 3 miles of gravel road off of the main road. As per my routine, I pulled into our gate and down our gravel drive, past the horse barn to our carriage house (my shop and a guest apartment above.) I get home before my wife, and relieve our nanny who watches my 19 month old boy during the day. Before I go down to the house (another 100 yards or so) I feed the animals in the barn, three horses and a goat, and our three dogs and numerous barn cats.

Well, yesterday, I noticed while feeding the animals that our nanny's car wasn't there. I decided to go down to the house to see if she was indeed home. In the meantime, I was distracted and forgot to lock the horses into their stalls.