Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All,

This forum has been a great source of info for me and there's always something interesting to read and look at. I don't have any major revelations or great wisdom to share but I thought I'd just post a little about how a newbie racer that is a sub par mechanic is going at things.

I have moved to a new city with a track (Castrol International Raceways, Edmonton AB Canada) and thought I'd give racing a go. With the move I now live in a house and have a garage which I have been sorely missing during the last 4 year of condo life. I have very little track experience, 3 track days about 5 years ago and none since. I am basically starting from scratch and trying to sort things out.

Step 1: Buy a bike (May 10th ish 2017)
So I picked up a track ready 2005 999S for a decent price. Don't have much history on it but the guy said it has new belts and the valves were done. New chain and sprockets, tires are ok for a short bit, nothing great but nothing terrible either. It was a street bike that the guy turned into a track bike and never used it as such.

Step 2: Race School (May 12-13)
Go to race school, rode the bike for the first time, find a couple issues like leaking oil from the clutch and forks, don't crash, get race license. Completed the school and had fun doing it. It was bloody cold out, about 5C the whole day on the track which was less than ideal. My first time ever on a this generation of ducati, 999. It has lots of power, handles well and has shown me that I am clearly the weakest link.

Step 3: Fix the bike (May 15-25)