Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,857 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
will there be a problem if i remove the boots in my clutch, front and rear reservoir?...or make any difference?

i want them out because they look ugyl, like the fluid is always black.

·
Registered
3,857 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
danielspdx said:
Don't take this the wrong way, but WTF? You're serious?

if laughing is the wrong way to take it then i certainly took it the wrong way. i suppose to answer the WTF i say, no car i've ever had had boots in the reservoir...and i don't know what their function is.

·
Registered
293 Posts
I'm not a hydraulic engineer type, but I'm assuming they create a closed system and don't allow air in. Secondly, they keep the fluid from sloshing around too much and getting air bubbles, acting like a damper in a way.

Is the fluid black? Why don't you try putting some sweatbands over the reservoirs, then the fluid could be pink and you wouldn't see it.

·
Registered
204 Posts
Namor said:
if laughing is the wrong way to take it then i certainly took it the wrong way. i suppose to answer the WTF i say, no car i've ever had had boots in the reservoir...and i don't know what their function is.
Most cars have some kind of bellows underneath their reservior caps.

http://www.raybestos.com/OnLineTraining/glossary1.htm

"Bellows Seal - An expanding diaphragm used as a seal between the master cylinder reservoir and the reservoir cap. It prevents leaks and air from contacting the fluid, yet it allows the fluid to change in volume."

I always thought it was there to take up air space as fluid level dropped due to pad/shoe wear. Keeps the air space above the fluid at a minimum to lessen aeration of the fluid.

·
Registered
1,443 Posts