Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there... I'm in the process of a bit of a project track bike. Up until this point I've done most of my own basic maintennace and servicing on my other bikes but want to use this 900 as a means to delve in a bit more.

I've taken off the headlight, brake light, blinkers, horn. So far ive kept the wiring intact in the loom with the plugs etc but will eventually remove them. Should I just cut them somewhere where they are all gathered and wrapped or follow them back to where they start and do it properly? I cant really see this bike ever being back on the road.

Are there any potential issues of removing road going electricals, does it impact on any of the other components? Is there anything I should watch out for or do?

cheers

·
Registered
7,104 Posts
I am not good with electrics but found it much simpler and more reliable to make a new wiring harness for the stuff you need, out of larger wire with better terminals. The old stock harness is a marketable item. I bought rolls of wire in the correct colors to keep the stock wiring diagram relevant, but I made a new simplified diagram to use . Just run one wire at a time, plug it in at one end, and leave extra wire so you can route it as you want to.

Reactions: ZADSS

·
Registered
7,104 Posts
Use shrink tubing after crimping ( slide it on first ) and wrap the harness when your done for protection. I used split wiring sleeve on some areas.

·
Smut peddler
1,146 Posts
I agree with making your own harness. Chopping up and taping the oe one is kinda hacky, and if you change your mind as much as I do, you'll be glad to have your oe harness on hand to go back to stock. Especially if you want to ever sell it.

Reactions: ZADSS

·
Premium Member
5,209 Posts