Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sure this will be met with some scepticism but I'm hoping that someone can point me in the direction of a solution. I wish to remove the ignition barrel from my 748 and replace it with a simple switch as its a track bike and I'm not good at keeping keys.
I understand this probably sounds like a stolen bike so i don't expect direct instructions on how to just some idea of where to get help would be great. I have my owners manual and can remove the barrel but am unsure of how hard the installation of a switch would be.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
also can i remove the starter button/ kill with and replace them with switches also.
Cheers.

·
Excel Addict
2001 900SSie
5,345 Posts
Replacing the key with a toggle switch rated for direct current is simple.

If you look at the attached diagram that I found on the internet, the only thing you need to do is connect the yellow/black and the white to the toggle switch.
The other wires do not need to be connected as they are for lighting.

Basically the same for the stop switch with a toggle switch.
The start button, assuming you will retain the starter motor needs to be a normally open push button switch.

I see you are in Oz, so head to your local Jaycar. Make sure the switches are rated for DC current.

There is a slim chance Jaycar will have the correct connector so you can plug the toggle switch and wiring into the harness.

Attachments

·
Excel Addict
2001 900SSie
5,345 Posts
Yes it is that simple.

In the wiring diagram I attached at the ignition switch the four possible positions of the key switch shows what is connected at each position with the white circles and black bar.

In the off position there are no white circles or bar between white and yellow/black nor yellow and orange.