Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm looking to replace my sprockets/chain as they're starting to get a little worn. I'm a little confused about changing the rear though as it's my first time doing it on an SSA bike. Almost everywhere I've looked only sells sprockets made to work with the quick change sprocket carriers. I don't need that ability and especially don't want to spend a couple hundred on the carrier itself. Can I not just get an OEM style sprocket and mount it using the existing hardware?

·
Registered
157 Posts
In fact, I just completed an upgrade on my 796... I got the new carrier and quick change sprocket setup. Costwise, it's a wash, assuming you will replace your sprocket at least one more time, and... of course... it makes it much easier. I would also plan on replacing the cush-drive inserts; mine have about 11K miles on them and they are fairly trashed. I have the old sprocket, still, if you want pictures of it.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Cool thanks for the info. I finally found a sprocket that fits as an OEM replacement rather than the quick change and it costs about the same as a quick change carrier and sprocket so I guess I'll just go that route.

Do you use rubber or poly cush drives when you replaced yours?

·
Registered
157 Posts
Cool thanks for the info. I finally found a sprocket that fits as an OEM replacement rather than the quick change and it costs about the same as a quick change carrier and sprocket so I guess I'll just go that route.

Do you use rubber or poly cush drives when you replaced yours?