Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I've been a long time Ducati fan since I was in diapers. When I was about 20 I restored my first Duke a 68 Ducati Mark 3 .I had owned if for quite some time got married and finally parted with the bike. Regretting it every day.

Typical story , friend of a friend deal:

I have been tracking down an owner via word of mouth for a bike for a few months. I finally get in touch with the owner. Who confirms he has a Ducati that he purchased new in 79. Drove it a bit in the 80s had it on the track and road america during that time as well.

After some time discussing the bike he invited me up to take a look at it. During our conversation he just referred to the bike as a 900.

Sunday I had a chance to go look at the bike and at this point I am pretty excited.

Its titled as a 1980 however he claims its a 79 as he had it imported into the states. He had the old Milwaukee Ducati Dealer on North Ave help.

Long story short it appears to me a 900 MHR and pretty factory correct. As it stands now in the early 90s he removed the single seat and installed a dual seat as well as a few other pieces. However luckily he kept all of the original trim etc.

The bike comes with almost double worth in spares and misc parts and pieces from the racing days.

Long story short, I have purchased the bike. (Left a large deposit) with bill of sale. I really wasn't planning on purchasing anything and did not have a trailer or truck at my disposal yesterday. I am planning on picking it up either thursday or friday night.

Now for the questions -

The bike has been sitting approx: since 1995. He has cranked it over from time to time howeve upon starting it a few years back it the dellortos just flooded.

He stopped using the bike due to an injury and could not deal with the non electric start.