Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a sport touring newbie (have a Monster S2R 1000 already) and I'm considering a 2004-2007 ST3(S, if I can find one), love the looks-sound-touring ability, but have a few concerns and questions:

Questions:
1)with an out of production bike, how easy will it be to get parts at this point?
2)the bike will be used 2 up most of the time - is it easy enough to get accessories such as a touring seat, top case (to have a back rest + space) and after market pipes (termignonis or other). Where can a St rider best get these parts?
3) has your experience with the ST been that the bike is pretty reliable? Planning to do proper maintenance + a fair bit of distance
4) Finally, are there recommended performance mods I should consider?

Thanks for yout comments and suggestions.....

·
7,733 Posts
First year for ST3 "S" model was 2006.

1) May prove challenging in the long term, but short term should be okay. Most bikes lines come to an end, some earlier than others. This concern is relevant to all makes/models.

2) Not a major issue getting most if not all of those items. A 2004 will not need a DP ecu or other aftermarket fuel metering altering device to makie it run right, ie open loop injection.

3) My experience with my '05 model has been very good. Is more pricey to service than other brands due to cam belts, and desmo shims. If I don't have the money, I'd rather not ride for a while, than not own a ST3.

4) Aftermarket slip ons, c/f if you can find them. Upgrade frt sprngs and dampers, swap out rear shock, add rear height adjustable feature, ie either a link or adjustable shock. (if not a S model)

Early 2004 models had a service bulletin to replace closer rocker springs and ecu. Check to see this work was done if buying '04. If, by some chance, the bike is still shod with Michelin Pilot, not the II's, ditch them asap.

·
Registered
523 Posts