Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,076 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello.

I'm trying to troubleshoot a slow/no start problem with the 998.

I put a new battery in that was fully charged. The bike would not start, it just slowly cranked but didn't catch. Now the battery reads 10 volts.

I'm new to Superbikes so I don't know what a "normal" starting 998 sounds like.

Anyway, what is the proper procedure to jump from a car battery if this is okay to do?

I don't want to fry any parts.

BTW, the service manual refers to "starter contactor", what is this called in USA terms? Is this nothing more then the starter relay?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,751 Posts