Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1994 900SS CR, 2002 998 Trackbike
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just pulled the plugs out of my 900 to investigate a new oil consumption issue. What I found was something that looks like signs of detonation / pre ignition to me. Pictures are from an endoscope camera through the plug hole and maybe hard to interpret, but I see little aluminum balls on the pistons, about equal on both cylinders. Photos of the plugs to follow, I think there is a tiny piece blown off one of the insulators but I'm not an expert as may be obvious by now

I have 11:1 pistons and FCR41 with a TPS (ignitech TCIP4) and have been running like this all summer.
I last looked in there maybe 1000 miles ago, when I dialed in the cam timing to 109° centerlines. I thought my ignition map was on the conservative side with no pinging felt or heard, and the pistons were clean last time.

Guess the more advanced cams have pushed cylinder pressure up enough to cause this? Since the properly dialled cams made the motor way smoother at low RPM, I may have also abused the 2500-3500RPM range a bit too much since then?

Anyway, not sure what to do next. Is this damage concerning enough to warrant opening the engine? Guess the bike should really go on a dyno, but the nearest is 6 hours and a ferry ride away from me. I'm obviously gonna pull a few degrees of timing out of that map.

·
Registered
735 Posts
time on a dyno may be well spent $ and time. No guessing about A/F ratio or ignition timing.....

Fred

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
time on a dyno may be well spent $ and time. No guessing about A/F ratio or ignition timing.....

Fred
Absolutely, but it's basically a two day operation to get this bike on a constant speed dyno and back from where I live, so I couldn't bring myself to it so far.

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
does it look like the plugs have aluminium on them?