Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Never thought I would be asking questions about an oil drain plug but here we go.

First, if any of this has already been posted, feel free to share the link but I haven't been able to find anything on here about it.

I have seen contradictory information regarding the type of wrench needed to take off the plug. When I used a 10mm allen, it seemed to fit but not snugly. However, after seeing that some have had to use a chisel to take it off, I decided to take my chances with the 10. I had to pull out a breaker bar but it came off.

This is where my main question comes in. After looking up replacement oil drain plugs, I have found a variety of possible replacements but wanted to check in with the community first before buying. Does anyone have any middle-of-the-road replacements they wanna share?

Finally, as a side note given I am new to the world of Ducs, what is the difference between the 750 Sport and the 750SS? Are parts interchangeable between the two?

·
Registered
3,274 Posts
there has been 3 750 sports.

1972 - 78 bevel drive

1988 - 1990 carby.

2001 - 2002 low budget 750ssie.

·
Registered
491 Posts
The 750 Sport had a spring valve engine whereas the 750SS was a desmo. Only approx. 200 750SS were made (probably less) to homologate them ex post facto after Paul Smart's superbike win in the 70's. The SS had some minor frame differences also but I am no expert on them. The SS's are now worth a fortune and, as a result, there are many fakes with the unscrupulous using Sports dolled up as an SS.