Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there

It's time to be a bit gentler with the old superlight so I just bought a pretty clean 98 900ss that is going to become my track bike. It has its first shake down track day this saturday. All is good with the bike except it has a K and N filter on the oil breather. This makes me a little bit uncomfortable on a bike that I am new to and about to track. Although I dont think the idea is terrible (filter) I'd like to place the filter under the seat (for now) so the plan is to just attach some hose to the breather, route to under seat and attch filter.

Does any body know the hose size? Cheers...

·
Registered
7,104 Posts
I don’t know the hose size but on mine I rerouted the stock hose upward toward the seat with a K&N and zip tied it to the right side of the frame. It would take a substantial wheelie to puke any oil. It hasn’t happened yet.

·
Premium Member
5,197 Posts
3/4"hose from the auto parts store is what we use be sure to run it into a catch tank and allow the tank to be vented. You can use a aluminum bottle fitted with a PCV fitting also from the auto parts store. Make sure the oil captured in the bottle can gravity feed back through the breather.

We also have had undertail catch/breather boxes from carbon fiber, fiberglass and aluminum so something can be fabricated. If you need a picture of examples I can take some later this week as I have a couple bikes in the shop.

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks for the replies. Just to get through the track day on sat i have run it to the storage area under seat... is there any negatives to doing it this way?

·
Premium Member
5,197 Posts