Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
664 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I've put on my tin helmet, ear-defenders and flame-proof goggles and now I'm going to ask a tyre question. And not a safe one either.
I've been using Supercorsas on my 998 for several years and been nice and happy, as I've been doing several trackdays per year and find them great for road and track. I do like to get my knee down a bit on the road, see, and I've never had a significant moment on the road with Supercorsas.
However, I do get a bit conscious of the need to get and keep a bit of heat in them, which leads to riding a bit fast a lot of the time. This is becoming less socially acceptable, especially with the number of dash-cams in use nowadays.
I use Metzler Roadtecs on my Hypermotard, which also never scare me and heat up pretty instantly, but I'm just a bit less confident on them right over on the sidewall and also I don't think they would be suitable for full track sessions on my (tuned) 998. I like Pirelli and Metzler profiles, though I run a 180/60 rear on the 998 which seems to turn in a little more nicely.
It's years since I did thorough tyre research and I've lost contact with what is the hot-poop nowadays.
So, to condense this down to a question, what I want is the best road knee-down tyre that doesn't need warming up a lot and can cope medium-brisk track usage. Any recommendations?

·
Registered
238 Posts
OK, I've put on my tin helmet, ear-defenders and flame-proof goggles and now I'm going to ask a tyre question. And not a safe one either.
I've been using Supercorsas on my 998 for several years and been nice and happy, as I've been doing several trackdays per year and find them great for road and track. I do like to get my knee down a bit on the road, see, and I've never had a significant moment on the road with Supercorsas.