Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys,

I'm new to Ducati and the Ducati Forum but very active on the Norton Access forum. I have 5 bikes at the moment I'm not exactly a newbie. I have a 1948 AJS M18, 1966 Norton Atlas, 1972 Norton Commando, 2000 Harley Police bike, 2003 Bonneville.

I am picking up a 1974 Ducati 750 GT on Monday. I'm so excited!!!! I've never owned, ridden or even sat on a Ducati before so I'm a bit daunted about driving 800 miles after forking out a lot of cash for a bike I purchased online. It is titled as 1974, and the engine number is 753556. The previous owner has had the bike for 36 years and recently restored/customized it. Apparently everything has been updated and refreshed. This is BY FAR the most expensive bike I've ever purchased so I'm excited and nervous.

I'm still researching but that engine number looks like it could be a 1973 or a 1974. Any ideas?

I am looking forward to getting to know the forum members here. Thanks so much!

·
Just Visiting Your Planet
9,420 Posts
I have no idea as to the answer to your question, but that is one beautiful looking bike. Good luck with it.

·
Registered
2,316 Posts
That is a cracking looking bike and I love 750 Ducatis. Sorry to point something out, but you may need to change tyres - the PO has fitted larger tyres, which is why he has fitted the 900SS front mudguard, and they are too large for the rims.

·
Registered
418 Posts
I am picking up a 1974 Ducati 750 GT on Monday. <snip> It is titled as 1974, and the engine number is 753556. <snip> I'm still researching, but that engine number looks like it could be a 1973 or a 1974. Any ideas?
First of all, welcome to the Forum and many congratulations on your purchase. It looks like the bike has been well cared for over the years, and it's certainly distinctive!

To your question: