Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I'm a total noob to the Ducati game, although I've ridden bikes for over 40 years. Just got an '09 HYM last Friday and would have more than 170 miles on it except for one thing... Dropped it in the parking lot at work and broke the shifter and the complicated mirror/turn signal arrangement on the left side.

I guess my question is this. I obviously need a new shifter, which doesn't look like any problem to switch out, and parts (or all) of the left side mirror, but do I have to go to the dealer to get these? The shifter is a POS cast aluminum thing which looks like you could break it with a hard shift, so I'd rather replace it with something decent if available.

With Harley's and BMW's and all the stuff I've ridden in the past, I could go about anywhere and get aftermarket stuff that was cheaper and better than the original, so wondering if I can do that on the Duck. Even the stock parts at something less than full dealer price would be helpful.

I'm going to keep the look by replacing the mirror section with stock, but the shifter could be anything.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

·
Registered
255 Posts
My dealer told me the gear lever was 200 bucks if I broke it while tweaking the tip.

·
Premium Member
1,513 Posts
I guess it depends on how much that you want to spend. I am sure that you can find an aftermarket shifter to replace that one, maybe even a folding one.

The mirror/signal/bark buster(ha ha) can be replaced with a more in depth mod. There is a thread on here that goes into detail about how others changed the set up. Mostly, they either didn't like the look or they didn't like the way the mirrors worked. You will need new bars, the sign/true bark busters, and new mirrors (on stems). They look good.