Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding for 19 years and most of that was motocross racing. I currently ride and track a 2007 R1. I am looking into a Hypermotard or Hyper S already modded out for commuting couple 50 mile rides per week (all toll road and highway) w/ occasional trackdays. I will not keep my R1 if I get the Duc.
I am almost positive I will not miss my R1 because I am so comfortable with the Hyper riding position.
Questions: 1. There are a couple of modded S models for sale around Houston with slipper clutch, race seat, cams, full exhaust, ECU. Is this realistic for a commuter without having reliability issues? I take good care of my bikes and vehicles and will keep it serviced, nuts and bolts loctited and checked, etc.
2. Is a new base model a better decision. The S models I looked at are both under 1000 miles ridden.
3. I will eventually put exhaust and slipper clutch on anything I buy, what do you think?

·
Registered
1,757 Posts
I have been riding for 19 years and most of that was motocross racing. I currently ride and track a 2007 R1. I am looking into a Hypermotard or Hyper S already modded out for commuting couple 50 mile rides per week (all toll road and highway) w/ occasional trackdays. I will not keep my R1 if I get the Duc.
I am almost positive I will not miss my R1 because I am so comfortable with the Hyper riding position.
Questions: 1. There are a couple of modded S models for sale around Houston with slipper clutch, race seat, cams, full exhaust, ECU. Is this realistic for a commuter without having reliability issues? I take good care of my bikes and vehicles and will keep it serviced, nuts and bolts loctited and checked, etc.
2. Is a new base model a better decision. The S models I looked at are both under 1000 miles ridden.
3. I will eventually put exhaust and slipper clutch on anything I buy, what do you think?